logo new
Login as: Member Non-Member

Annual Meeting

SWS 2017 Annual Meeting 

San Juan, Puerto Rico, June 5 - 8 


The Society of Wetland Scientists’ 2017 Annual Meeting will be held at the Puerto Rico Convention Center in San Juan, Puerto Rico, June 5-8, 2017. This unique meeting is themed Celebrating Wetland Diversity Across the Landscape: Mountains to Mangroves.

The program will highlight the interdisciplinary nature of wetland science and practice, how wetlands function, and how protection and restoration play an significant role in the health of our ecosystems and society. The importance of using sound science to inform management strategies and enhance environmental values to society will also be emphasized. There are many linkages among wetland science, application, economics, and policy which are sure to engage the diverse membership of SWS including researchers, practitioners, regulators, and policymakers. This meeting will also be a prime opportunity to engage the public and private wetland professionals with field trips and workshops that will focus on current wetland topics and issues.

San Juan was strategically selected as the host destination for this event in order to further underline the theme of diversity as there are significant connections between protecting and restoring wetlands in Puerto Rico, providing ecosystem services, and the resulting economic returns in the U.S. and abroad, including in Mexico, the Caribbean, and in Central and South America.

For more information, visit the SWS Annual Meeting website


SWS 2018 Annual Meeting 

Denver, CO, May 29 - June 1 

SWS 2019 Annual Meeting

Baltimore, MD, May 28 - 31

SWS Annual Meeting Timeline

2019 Baltimore, MD
2018 Denver, CO
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Corpus Christi, TX
2015 Providence, RI
2014 Portland, OR (Joint Aquatic Sciences Meeting)
2013 Duluth, MN (access abstracts)
2012 Orlando, FL
2011 Prague, Czech Republic
2010 Salt Lake City, UT
2009 Madison, WI
2008 Washington, DC
2007 Sacramento, CA
2006 Cairns, Australia
2005 Charleston, NC
2004 Seattle, WA
2003 New Orleans, LA
2002 Lake Placid, NY
2001 Chicago, IL
2000 Quebec City, Canada 
1999 Norfolk, VA
1998 Anchorage, AK
1997 Bozeman, MT
1996 Kansas City, MO
1995 Cambridge, MA
1994 Portland, OR
1993 Edmonton, Canada
1992 New Orleans, LA
1991 Ann Arbor, MI
1990 Breckenridge, CO
1989 Orlando, FL
1988 Washington, DC
1987 Seattle, WA
1986 Biloxi, MS
1985 Durham, NH
1984 San Francisco, CA
1983 St. Paul, MN
1982 Wrightsville Beach, NC
1981 Alexandria, LA
1980 Tampa, FL